MBAA Inducts New Members Into Athletic Hall of Fame

May 2022

Moses Brown School is pleased to announce that several new members have joined the school’s Athletic Hall of Fame at Reunion this May:

Marcus Battle ’77 was a noted track and field athlete at Moses Brown, holding school records in long and triple jumps and named All-American in both sports, in addition to being a four-year All-State basketball player. He excelled in the triple jump, winning the National Junior Olympics in this event, and qualifying for U.S. Olympic Trials in 1984 and 1988. Marcus is still competing today and is the current undefeated world champion in the triple jump in the Senior Games, with four world master’s titles. He went on to coach track and basketball at Howard University and the University of D.C. and continues to coach and consult for the USATF.

The 1982 Boys’ Varsity Lacrosse team is remembered for their undefeated 13-0 season, in which they defeated LaSalle, Portsmouth Abbey, and Providence Country Day, and all other teams they faced. On their way to winning the SENE League Championship that year, they outscored their opponents by an impressive 220-65. Coached by H. Wayne Curtis and Rob Hollis ’73, the team included Larry Blau, Walter Capone, Bill Baker, Tom Gagnon, Phil Blazar, Tom Pearson, Ben Rhodes, Andy Barrengos, John Rosen, Paul Rocchio, Peter Ramsden, Andrew Fallon, Matt Karlson, Jeb Barrows, Rob Rosen, Greg Schneider, Larry Goldstein, Mark Benjamin, David Waterhouse, Ted Fischer, Mike Geffroy, Bernie Buonanno, Matt Widmer, Brad Raymond, and Jamie Munro; Ann Banchoff and Catherine Weinstein Reed, managers.

David Murphy ’91 played baseball, football and track at Moses Brown and captained the baseball team in his senior year. He was named All-SENE in both baseball and football. Dave went on to captain the baseball team at Brown and was a four-year starter for the Bears. He was named All-Ivy League and All-New England at Brown and held the record as the single-season hit record holder for the university at that time. Dave graduated Brown with an impressive .500 batting average.

Kristian Photopoulos ’92 played football and lacrosse at MB and was named All-New England, All-State and MVP of the New England All-Star Game in lacrosse. Moses Brown’s lacrosse team was named SENE League Champions in his senior year. Kristian went on to play lacrosse for Syracuse University named NCAA Division 1 Champions in 1993 and 1995 and captained the team in his senior year. He was named an U.S. Lacrosse Coaches Association All-American.

George “Toby” Price ’92 co-captained Moses Brown’s lacrosse team in 1992 with Kristian Photopoulos. Toby received All-New England Honors at MB, and was named All-State and MVP multiple times. He also captained the football team and took first place in the shot put in All-New England Indoor Track. Toby went on to play lacrosse at Syracuse, receiving All-American Honors, playing in the National Lacrosse All-Star Game and participating in SU’s championship winning teams of 1993 and 1995.

Sharon Hart Silveira ’97 earned an impressive 11 varsity letters at MB, in soccer, basketball and softball. She was named First Team in soccer, received the Coaches Award in basketball, and named First Team All-State in softball. Sharon was the MVP of the girls’ softball team all four years of upper school and held the Rhode Island strikeout record in her senior year. She went on to play varsity soccer at Pomona College, securing the assists record in her first season playing there. She was later named All-Division and named captain and MVP of that team as well. Sharon was also an NFCA All-American Scholar-Athlete.

Emily Abbood ’07 played soccer, ice hockey, track and lacrosse at MB, a 12-season varsity athlete. She was named MVP in soccer, track and lacrosse over multiple years and made all-division and -state teams in both soccer and lacrosse. In addition, Emily was named a U.S. Women’s Lacrosse All-American in her senior year and competed in the U.S. Lacrosse National Tournament, representing New England. She went on to play lacrosse for the University of California, Berkeley, captaining the women’s team there and representing Berkeley on all-conference teams in the Mountain Pacific Sports Conference.

The Athletic Hall of Fame ceremony is part of Moses Brown Reunion weekend. See past recipients at

To view the 2022 Hall of Fame Induction video, click here.

Learn more about MB Reunion here.