R.I. Chief Justice Paul Suttell ’67 is MB’s 2017 Distinguished Alumnus

In May, Paul Suttell ’67 received the MB Alumni Association’s Distinguished Alumnus Award at Reunion. Paul is chief justice of Rhode Island’s Supreme Court. A respected jurist, noted for his fairness and hard work, he also spent several years in Rhode Island Family Court. Paul developed his writing skills as a student at MB. After graduation, he majored in political science at Northwestern and earned his J.D. from Suffolk. After law school, Paul returned to Rhode Island to practice and also serve as a state representative. He has been active in numerous community organizations, including the Sakonnet Preservation Association, Little Compton Historical Society, and Adoption Rhode Island. He considers himself fortunate to have parents who set a high ethical standard, with principles reinforced daily at Moses Brown. He appreciates MB’s emphasis on ethical leadership, affirmed for him as a student by the MB motto: “I can think of no better foundation for ethical leadership in the law or in life.”

Paul’s recognition was part of Moses Brown’s annual Reunion weekend. Davide Dukcevich ’92, co-owner of Rhode Island’s Daniele Foods, received the 25th Reunion Alumni Award.

Moses Brown’s Distinguished Alumnus/a Award recognizes an alumnus for significant, long-term success in personal and professional achievements, who has made outstanding contributions to his or her profession and has rendered distinguished service to the public welfare, thus honoring Moses Brown School. Past recipients include:

2002 Franklin Robinson ’57
2003 John Dowling ’53
2004 Richard Burton ’54
2005 Richard Fain ’65
2006 Will Mackenzie ’56
2007 Ron Boss ’57
2008 Howard Dana ’58
2009 Peter Kilmarx ’79
2010 Christopher Hill ’70
2011 Tom Chappell ’61
2012 Peter Kilborn ’57
2013 Robert Krause ’63
2014 Matthew Runci ’64
2015 F. Sessions Cole ’65
2015 Arthur Grace ’65
2016 A.T. Wall ’71
2016 Steven Calabresi ’76
2017 Paul Suttell ’67

(While Moses Brown School was originally co-ed, only boys were admitted from 1926 through 1976. Coeducation returned to MB in the fall of 1976.)